I Give Up On This Election

I just can’t do it anymore. This presidential election has finally made me throw in the towel. After months of trying to pick my way carefully through the social media muckraking, I’m at the point where I just have to give in to the endless deluge of posts and links.

I am soul weary, y’all. And I just give up.

I cannot support someone who attempts to destroy or ignore victims of sexual assault.

I cannot support someone who thinks everyone is out to get them.

I cannot support someone who has made millions off of loopholes and shady business deals.

I cannot support someone who has a history best described as “where there’s smoke, there’s fire.”

I cannot support someone who manipulates the truth like an adult cheating at Monopoly Jr.

I cannot support someone capable of looking dead into a camera and telling lies with polished ease.

I cannot support someone whose supporters bully, attack, condescend, belittle, and outright abuse people for simply disagreeing.

I cannot support someone who will likely open up our foreign policy to the highest bidder.

I cannot support someone who will likely infringe on some of the most basic and sacred of our rights as Americans.

I cannot support someone who picks and chooses facts like I pick and choose toppings at a froyo bar.

I cannot support someone who would make refugees pawns in a political game.

I cannot support someone who in word or deed willfully hurts our military personnel.

I cannot support someone who has the media so enthralled the media is effectively a lapdog brought to heel.

I cannot support someone who sees politics as a zero-sum game of “our side” versus “their side”.

In short, my friends, I have no candidate who speaks for me. I am a nomad, a political refugee looking for a country that has either ceased to exist or shrunk back from its civic duties and civil decorum in the public square. There are a thousand different reasons why I feel this way, but the cumulative effect is I am simply done trying to figure out which side of the mirror to vote for.

I give up on this election. I’ll catch y’all in 2020.

One thought on “I Give Up On This Election

Tell me what you think...

